• We’re called Lake House and we’re happily nestled in the stunning landscape of the English Lake District. So, it only seemed fitting that we write a blog exploring the history, heritage and perhaps unknown facts about the lakes that have made the Lake District so famous around the UK, and of course, around the globe.

    Funnily enough, the Lake District is a region named after its many great lakes - but in fact, there is only one official lake! Bassenthwaite Lake is really the only body of water that, by the books, has ‘lake’ in its name - although other areas include the word to help distinguish it from a neighbouring town, such as Lake Windermere. It’s actually the case that every other supposed lake in the Lake District is officially classed as a water, tarn or mere.

    Despite that, the largest ‘lakes’ are:

    • Windermere - 14.8 square kilometres
    • Ullswater - 8.9 square kilometres
    • Derwentwater - 5.5 square kilometres
    • Bassenthwaite Lake - 5.3 square kilometres
    • Coniston Water - 4.0 square kilometres

    The deepest lake in the area, and in fact, in the whole of England, is Wastwater at 74 metres (243 feet). Wastwater is also 3 miles long and over half a mile wide.

    England's longest lake is Windermere, which is 10.5 miles long
    We hope you enjoyed these fun facts about the Lakes that make the Lake District famous! If you’re looking for somewhere to rest those weary feet after a day of exploring the Lake District’s wonderful lakes, take a look at our latest offers and packages and enjoy a restful night’s sleep at Lake House.


Your Details
From only £99

Check-in is between 3pm – 8pm. If you need to arrive any later please contact us.

© Ambleside Lake House 2018 - 2021. All rights reserved.
A company registered in England. Registered office: Fleet House, New Road, Lancaster LA1 1EZ. Registered number: 01795327.